Congrats to Captain Kimberly Davis, MC, USN – 2022 American Hospital Association Federal Award of Excellence

Posted on Updated on

This award recognizes a senior federal healthcare executive whose leadership in directing and orchestrating innovative achievements has distinguished themselves by contributing substantially to the mission of the federal healthcare system. As Commander NMRTC San Diego and Director of Naval Medical Center San Diego, this award highlights her steadfast commitment to the organization. Bravo Zulu!

AMA Awards for Outstanding Government Service

Posted on Updated on

The American Medical Association (AMA) solicits annual nominations for outstanding government service—considered one of the most prestigious awards honoring elected officials and career government employees. These awards aim to recognize significant accomplishments to advance public health.

Awards – The AMA Awards for outstanding government service awards the following 7 categories of elected and career public servants in national, state and local government who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to improving public health:

•U.S. senator

•U.S. representative

•Member of the executive branch serving by presidential/political appointment

•Member of the executive brand in career public service

•Governor or elected statewide official

•Member of the state legislature

•Career public servant at the state or local level

Award Criteria – Active Duty nominees who have met the following criteria will be considered for the award:

•Contributed significantly to the public health through elected and career government service

•Demonstrated outstanding leadership in his/her field

•Possesses high personal integrity

•Promoted the art and science of medicine via government service

•Developed a special project that contributed to the public health of a given community or special population

Additional information may be found in attached brochure and nomination form. 

Do not submit awards directly to AMA.  Submit nominations for Chief, BUMED endorsement for the AMA awards NLT Friday, 21 October 2022, via e-mail to BUMED POCs, LT Kevin Mollema and Janel Schulte (contact in the global).  Supplemental supporting material should be limited to no more than 10 pages.

Call for Nominations – 2023 Hero of Military Medicine – Due  10 NOV 2022

Posted on Updated on

The Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine (HJF) is hosting the Annual Heroes of Military Medicine Awards dinner (HMM) on Thursday, May 11, 2023, at the Washington National Cathedral in Washington, DC.

This award honors one individual from Navy Medicine who has distinguished himself/herself in medical research or clinical care through compassion, excellence and selfless dedication that go above and beyond the call of duty to advance military medicine and the overall health of our nation’s wounded, ill and injured service members and veterans.  

  • Criteria:  Please see attached 2023 HMM Award criteria, which provides information on guidelines and what must be included in the completed nomination package.  The HMM award is open to any rank, enlisted or officer, Active Duty or Reserve.
  • Nomination:  Please use the attached 2023 Navy Hero of Military Medicine Award nomination form and must contain all information required in the nomination package.

Navy Nominations to be submitted to the BUMED POC, Janel Schulte (contact in the global) NLT Thursday, 10 November 2022.

Nominations Open – AMSUS 2022/2023 Annual Awards Program

Posted on Updated on

Background: AMSUS – The Society of Federal Health Professionals honors the contributions of outstanding federal healthcare professionals each year through the Awards Program.
The awards are presented during the Association’s Annual Continuing Education Meeting. For 2023, each recipient will be presented their award personally by the leadership of their agency and the AMSUS Executive Director during the Opening plenary session on Monday, February 13. We strongly encourage nominations of deserving individuals for these awards.

This year’s Awards Program has 15 competitive award categories, including individual professional awards and functional mission awards. Nominations are open to any federal healthcare worker from the Army, Navy, Air Force, USPHS, Veterans Affairs, Homeland Security, Health and Human Services, and the Uniformed Services University.

There is also an opportunity to nominate deserving individuals from your agency in these three premiere award categories:
• Rising Star Award
• Innovator Award
• Lifetime Achievement Award

The nomination process takes place electronically through the AMSUS website:
Nominations are being accepted now through 15 October 2022. The deadline will not be extended. All nominations must be submitted in the online submission portal. Complete information on submitting a nomination is included in the attachment.

2022 Call for Allied Health Leadership Excellence Nominations

Posted on Updated on

Each year, the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs acknowledges and honors military allied health professionals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and skill resulting in noteworthy clinical or administrative accomplishments.   The 2022 Call for Allied Health Leadership Excellence Nominations document provides information on guidelines and what must be included in the completed nomination package.  


  • See attached “MHS Allied Health Leadership Excellence Announcement 2022” for additional details.


  • Junior and Senior Provider Allied Health Leadership Nominations
  • Junior and Senior Non-Provider Allied Health Leadership Nominations 

Submission Information and POC: 

  • Email nominations to CDR Jennifer Wallinger (contact in the global).  Package documents must be submitted in one consolidated PDF format with the following naming: Lastname.Firstname.nom_Award Category
  • For Correspondence related to this award, please annotate in the subject line: MHS Allied Health Leadership Excellence Award
  • POC: CDR Jennifer Wallinger (contact in the global)

Due date:

  • NLT 30 Aug 2022

MHS 2022 Federal Mil/Civ Nursing Leadership Excellence Award

Posted on Updated on

This award honors Federal Civilian and Military Registered Nurses employed within the Department of Defense, Defense Health Agency (DHA), Army, Navy, and Air Force who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and exceptional compassion and commitment to patients, colleagues, and the profession of nursing, resulting in noteworthy clinical or administrative accomplishments and contributing to the improved image and practice of nursing within the Military Health System (MHS).

Eligibility:  See attachments for details on award criteria and submissions:

1.       MHS Federal Civilian Nursing Leadership Excellence Award

2.       MHS Federal Military Nursing Leadership Excellence Award


1.       Package documents must be submitted in one consolidated PDF format with the following naming convention: Lastname_Firstname_Award Category_MHS 2022

2.       For Correspondence related to this award, please annotate in the subject line: MHS Nursing Leadership Excellence Award

3.       Contact service POC for any questions

Email Navy nominations and questions to CAPT Julie Darling (contact in the global)

For other services, nominations will be submitted to the service POC.